Published on:

The Burton Awards for five general counsel who are Legends in Law

Buried in the back of InsideCounsel, July 2007 at 95, is a mysterious item. It explains that “law firm managing partners and law school deans nominated the winners” of the Burton Awards for “Legends In Law.” The awards program is run in association with the Library of Congress and is sponsored by LexisNexis. Selections were made on the following criteria: “reputation in both the legal profession and as a proven authority in a specialized area of law; background and experience; complexity and scope of matters handled; global or national importance of issues confronted; and proven and exemplary leadership.”

The 2007 winners were all general counsel at corporations witih revenues in excess of $1 billion: James T. Hale (Target Corp.), Michele Coleman Mayes (Pitney Bowes), Tim Mayopolous (Bank of America), Geralyn Presti (Forest City Enterprises), and Richard Walker (Deutsche Bank). A different law firm nominated each of the five winners.

Posted in:
Published on:

Comments are closed.